New Texas Law! Drive now – text later
You are no longer allowed to use your smartphone to read, write, or texting while driving in Texas. Violators of this law, which went into effect in September, face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of $25 to $99, with penalties of up to $200 for repeat offenders.
Are there exceptions?
If your vehicle is stopped, you can text and email. And while you’re driving, you can use your device for navigating, summoning emergency help, checking traffic and road conditions, and playing music.
What about talking on a phone?
The new law doesn’t prohibit talking on a hand-held phone (i.e, without Bluetooth) while driving. Therefore, talking on a hand-held phone remains legal unless your local ordinances prohibit or restrict such activity.
“Drive Now, Text Later”: was provided by Art Di Segna, a recognized leader in his field. Art can be contacted via email at Art@FineHomesOfTexas.com by phone at (281) 415-5888 or Contact Me on this site. Art has helped hundreds of people move in and around many Houston towns for the last 14+ years.
Thinking of selling your home? I have a passion for Real Estate and love to share my marketing expertise!
I specialize in working with buyers in the following areas: Houston, Spring, Cypress, Tomball, Magnolia, Conroe, Huntsville, Point Blank, Lake Livingston area, Onalaska, Cape Royale, Cold Spring, Blanchard, Trinity, Woodville Texas.